One Of Those Defining Moments In Life

I have liked music since I was a small child and grew up with the 60’s and 70’s music.

Pretty much all of it was “Pop” music because that was all I had available to me, whatever was playing on the radio.

In the late 60’s and very early 70’s, I lived in Portland Oregon and they had the latest shit man, all hip and up to date so I got to hear stuff like Black Sabbath, Pink Floyd, Iron Butterfly, all kinds of good shit.

Even at 10 years old I liked the hard stuff man.

Then we moved back to Coos Bay Oregon, a small logging town on the South West coast that shared a city border with North Bend.
Back in the late 50’s and early 60’s, it was the largest lumber exporting port in the entire world.

There was no end of Red Necked motherfuckers everywhere you looked and when it came to music on the radio you did have a couple of choices.
Country, Western or both.
It used to drive me fucking crazy.
They didn’t even have an FM station until the 70’s I don’t think.

By the late 70’s even Eugene Oregon had gotten hip as it were because it’s a college town so they had a couple of pretty decent FM stations.
The problem was that you couldn’t get reception during the day but at night, if you were lucky and it wasn’t fading in and out too bad, you could catch up with the latest tunes.
I can remember walking around upstairs at my Grandmothers house with my portable radio trying to keep the station from fading out, listening to stuff that I couldn’t find anywhere else.

Finally, around 78 or so, little Coos Fucking Bay got a radio station that started playing modern popular music and every once in a while the DJ would slip one in for us youngsters.

Then it happened.

Out of a clear blue sky one day as I was listening to the radio this tune came on that I had never heard before and it was like a gift from God to me personally.

I couldn’t believe my fucking ears.
Serious, hard core, HEAVY FUCKING METAL.
I about shit a ring around myself it was so good.
The trouble was that I didn’t catch either the name of the song or the name of the band, the song had just started when I first tuned in and when it was over they just went straight to the next 70’s tune in the rotation.
I was freaking out trying to find out who played it.

I remember I listened to that radio station all that day until they went off the air when it got dark and then tuned the sonsabitches in as soon as I woke up the next day to see if they would play it again.

Finally, late in the afternoon I heard it again and I was just beside myself.
Some band I had never heard of and a really strange name for the song.
I wrote that shit down and drove straight to the local record store across town to see if they had it. It’s a good thing too because that radio station never played it again as far as I know.
The dufus fuck at the record store had absolutely no idea what the fuck I was talking about when I showed him what I was looking for.
I finally pleaded with the dumb bastard hard enough that he got on the phone and made a long distance call somewhere to get the catalog number and agreed to order the album for me and the rest is history.
I have been a Head Banging Heavy Metal Maniac ever since.

The name of that song?

Green Manilishi With A two Prong Crown.

Told ya it was a weird name.

The name of the band?

Judas Priest.
You may have heard of them since then.

The DJ had been playing a live version of the song off their then latest album, Unleashed In The East.
I still have that album.

When I heard this it was all over for me, it was Metal Forever after that.

4 thoughts on “One Of Those Defining Moments In Life

  1. For me it was AC/DC’s live record, “If You Want Blood You’ve Got It.” The local FM tracked thru entire albums on Sunday nights. It was the most amazing shit I’d ever heard. Laying in bed with my Radio Shack headphones cranked. I was hooked. Went out and bought the 8-track, wore that out…then the vinyl. I have it on my iPod now! 😉 \M/

    Like

  2. “Green Manilishi With A two Prong Crown!”
    DAMN! that was the first song I learned to play on guitar.
    Thanx for the trip back to happier times.

    Like

  3. Good, but i like Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac – The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown) version better. In the seventies in the Denver area we had KTCL which was free form AM radio at the time now gone to alternative rock or something. Had everything no one else had.

    Like

  4. Saw Judas Priest twice in concert in spring of 1980, headlining with UFO and the other I don’t remember cause . . . well, you know teenager stuff, lol. But it was a good concert ! Thanks for the ear worm, good stuff !

    Like

Pansies, Trolls and Liberals are urged to flee this place.

