There Be Scumbags In Our Hood

Besides me.
Fuckers.

I rousted out way too damn early this morning again just like all of last week. I can’t seem to get 8 hours of sleep to save my life lately.
Since I was up and had gotten a couple of cups of coffee in me, I decided to go take care of some business before it crept up on me, like it usually does, and head over to Wally World and then hit the Goodwill.
I am still looking for a cheap 120 volt motor for the old table saw the neighbor gave me last Summer and you aren’t going to find one any cheaper than that out fit.
No luck there so I wandered back home to see what other mischief I could get into.
Like there is a shortage of that.

As I got about thirty feet from the driveway I noticed the trunk was half open on the kid’s car sitting out front.

I pulled in the driveway and see that the hood isn’t latched either.
I hadn’t noticed on my way out.
So I went in the house to let him know but he was in the shower so I told the wife and went out in the garage to start making a new mess or at least rearrange one of the old ones.
I had the garage door up and pretty soon here he comes.
He sticks his head in the trunk and mutters something, gets in the thing and looks around then gets out and opens the hood up.
Then he shuts the hood and starts back in the house.

“They took my battery” he says.
The one I just put new cable ends on for a couple of weeks ago if I remember correctly.

There was a brand fucking new stereo sitting on the passenger seat, a couple of bucks in change and some other shit and they didn’t even touch it.
Just the battery.

So, of course, I had to dig through my shit, find a junk battery to use for a core charge and then haul his ass up to the same tire shop I have already been to twice in the last two weeks to buy batteries from and get another one.
The core battery I had wasn’t really junk but it was twice as big as the one out of his car so of course it wouldn’t fit and I got it for nothing so I wasn’t really out anything there.
$120 later, it’s back to the house to put it in.

Whoever the cocksucker was that took it was at least considerate enough not to just hack the cables off with cable cutters and fuck me there. That would have been ugly.
They actually took the time to take the battery holder off, take the clamps off and leave all the hardware just sitting there. Right in front of the house and there is a street light directly across the street.

Ballsy motherfuckers took their sweet ass time in other words.

This happened some time last night, about 25 feet from where I am sitting and I fell asleep in my chair last night and didn’t hear a fucking thing.
This isn’t the first time some lowlife has tried ripping off shit out of our cars either and the kid is usually pretty good about locking his doors.
Last night he didn’t and here we are.

I didn’t say a fucking word either.

I’m pretty sure he was waiting for it and I’m also pretty sure he learned something the hard way. No need to rub it in the way I see it.

My wife constantly gives me shit because I lock my old El Camino all the time so I made pains to point out that the battery was still in my fucking car when I told her I had to take him up and get a new battery.
I just replaced hers last week and those fuckers ain’t cheap any more.

This isn’t some low rent district we are in, we live in a pretty decent neighborhood and I would bet money that all my neighbors consider us to be the worst ones on the block.

It’s kind of surprising in a way, a few weeks ago a former Vancouver Mayoral candidate blasted some other thievin’ bastard and killed him less than a mile from here right in his back yard.

Word must not have got around to the ones in my hood.

10 thoughts on “There Be Scumbags In Our Hood

    • I seriously thought about it just for that reason, so the cops would be aware there was shady shit going in in the area but the kid had to get to work and didn’t want to wait for them to show up.
      Knowing the donut consumers in this area it could have been two hours before one of them showed up just to take the info.

      Like

      • Phil, what frame size, rotation looking @ the shaft end, speed, pulley dia and belt width do you specifically need……. have some good motors here from our shop days. I think PO shipping is cheap for that weight. If I have one it is yours and I’ll even pay the freight. soapweed

        Like

        • Thank you so much for your very generous offer!
          The paint on the info plate for the one I have is pretty wiped out but I’m pretty sure the frame size says 56L.
          Now to reveal a not so secret secret.
          I can be a fucking dumbass sometimes.
          I got on the Google, (curse those bastards) and tried to find info on 56L.
          I found other 56’s but not the L.
          This caused me to start wandering around the web and to make a long story short, I Googled reversing rotation on a 120 volt motor and went straight to youtube.
          This is the dumbass part I mentioned.,
          I know you can reverse the rotation on a 220/480 three phase motor by swapping two of the three leads and do it at work.
          I did not know that you can swap the rotation on a single phase motor but sure as shit, there it was.
          So, as soon as I am done typing this reply to your generous offer, I am going to go out and swap the leads on the little $7 garage sale motor I found that fits perfect but spins the wrong way.

          Derp Der Der!!!

          Learn something new every day.
          Thanks again, you helped me out and didn’t even know it.

          Like

  1. Years ago (I hate to admit it) I lived in Tacoma. One morning I came out to get into my pickup, which, by the way, was parked in the driveway, next to the house. What did I find missing…….the CB radio that I had in the truck. Now this was the second one that was stolen from this rig. The first was stolen when the truck was parked at Tacoma Mall parking lot.

    Thankfully, shortly thereafter, I not only moved out of Tacoma, but out of that fucking state.

    Bob

    Like

  2. Man, getting the battery stolen sucks. Good you were able to get it changed and all, but it still sucks.

    We park in our driveways here (garages are Florida’s version of basements, since we can’t dig 5 feet down without hitting water), and I’m always wary of leaving anything in the car. Hadn’t thought of batteries or other parts of the car.

    Like

  3. “brand new stereo, couple of bucks change and other shit they didn’t touch. Just the battery.”

    Welcome to the post-SHTF/TEOTWAWKI society. A battery is an essential. Stereo/change can’t come close to buying that essential, which is why they weren’t taken (but thieves might come back for). Expect to see A LOT more of this as USA continues its descent into madness …

    Like

Pansies, Trolls and Liberals are urged to flee this place.

